Introverted Music

Music can act as a remedy to most anything, I think. Recently I read a Buzzfeed list of song lyrics to help with depression and I realized that I know a few good songs that introverts could relate to.

2538112205_0f034baab3_o
This photo “Students – Podium” is (c) m00by 2008 and made available under an Attribution-No Derivatives license.

So, I made a playlist. Songs about spending time alone, feeling awkward or different, and trying to appreciate the little things in life–all of the aspects of great potential introvert anthems. Here are the songs and, in the tradition of the Buzzfeed list I linked to above, some lyrics for each one that might speak to your introverted nature. At the bottom is the YouTube playlist itself!

1. Quiet by Lights

“I could wait a thousand hours
Stay the same in sun and showers
Pick apart a hundred flowers
Just to be quiet”

2. The Book Song by Sally Seltmann

“This club is soulless and I think that I would rather be
Writing the pages of a book that you’ll read quietly
Inside your house all by yourself, that’s where I want to be”

3. Lakes of Canada by The Innocence Mission

“Walking in the circle of a flashlight
someone starts to sing, to join in.
Talk of loneliness in quiet voices.
I am shy but you can reach me.”

4. The Listening by Lights

“I never really ever know what to say
When all of my emotions get in the way
I’m just trying to get us on the same page”

5. Creep by Radiohead (for all the angsty introverts out there)

“But I’m a creep, I’m a weirdo,
What the hell am I doing here?
I don’t belong here.”

6. Cool Kids by Echosmith

“She sees them walking in a straight line,
That’s not really her style
And they all got the same heartbeat
But hers is falling behind.”

7. Hope of a Lifetime by The Milk Carton Kids

“In the newfound reverie
Of quiet peace I found
Freedom comes from being unafraid
Of the heartache that can plague a man”

8. Peach Plum Pear by Joanna Newsom

“We speak in the store
I’m a sensitive bore
You seem markedly more
And I’m oozing surprise”

9. Here by Alessia Cara

“But honestly I’d rather be
Somewhere with my people we can kick it and just listen
To some music with the message (like we usually do)”

If you’re still reading this, hopefully you know why you’re “here”–that is, to leave a comment with your own introverted music! 🙂

5 thoughts on “Introverted Music

  1. Sounds Of Silence by Simon And Garfunckle or Disturbed (the Disturbed version is better)
    “Hello darkness my old friend
    I’ve come to talk with you again”

    Hiding in my headphones by Real Big Fish

    Boulevard of broken dreams by Green Day
    “I walk a lonely road
    the only one I that I have ever known
    Don’t know where it goes
    But it’s home to me and I walk alone”

    Half A Person by The Smiths
    “Sixteen clumsy and shy”

    Everybody Hurts by R.E.M.
    “Don’t throw your hand
    If you feel like you’re alone
    No, no, no you are not alone”

    The Introvert song by Four Bitchin Babes

    I could not think of any more. There’s over 4000 songs in my iTunes.

    Paul

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

