Little Things that Make a Difference to Introverts

When the going gets tough, the tough sit down with a good book to relax.

Or maybe that’s just me. Anyway, it’s been a little while since I’ve posted because I started my very last two courses for my sociology undergraduate degree a couple of weeks ago. One of those courses is super accelerated–only three and a half weeks long! As of today, I only have a week to go in that one, and my other course goes until the end of June. So, I’ve been busy with that as well as looking for work and trying not to freak out about it all. And I’ve been mostly successful with that, as over the years I’ve picked up a few little things that help to relax me! You, as an introvert (or maybe even as an extrovert?!), may be able to relate–and for that reason, I share with you my little things that make a difference:

Talking to a good friend casually.

I’m lucky to have a roommate that I can count as a good friend. It’s very helpful for when I could use someone in the evenings to talk to casually or about more serious things without having to make a big event out of it. This kind of support can come from any number of different places for you–someone you live with, or a friend or relative who lives close or far away that you can phone, or even someone you met and can chat with online. We’re social creatures like any other–we can’t keep things bottled in forever! It’s good to have someone to converse with right when you need it.

Introverts can benefit from having just the right person to talk to when they need it.
Introverts can benefit from having just the right person to talk to at the right time. Photo credit: me, 2015.

Reading–about nothing important or something special.

I’ll admit that the last novel I finished was chick lit. But right before that I finished a classic, Jane Eyre–and I’d say both were pretty beneficial for me! For me, reading is a low-key hobby and a way to get intellectual stimulation. Chick lit is good because I can often relate to the main characters in pretty simple ways–often they’re young females dealing with concerns about work or relationships. It’s a non-social way for me to get some kind of social stimulation.

Reading classics or non-fiction, on the other hand, get me thinking and make me feel productive. True story: it took me about five months to finish Jane Eyre–not because I didn’t like it, though. I liked that the writing style and content was challenging enough that it felt like work, in a good way. Such slow-paced, thoughtful hobbies are good for introverts.

Putting on PJs straight out of the dryer, pouring myself a cup of something warm, and doing “mindless” activities.

On the other hand, sometimes I can think too much. I used to talk down those Facebook-type games, but lately I’ve found myself with this online number game Just Get 10. I’m not sure if it’s good in an exercising-those-brain-muscles type of way, but it definitely helps me de-stress.

Sometimes you just can’t think or talk your way out of certain stressful events–so instead of trying, why not take a break? As long as you’re not actually putting aside any necessary tasks, it may be the best thing you can do. So take a guilt-free trip to your happy place, where your problems that you can’t actually do anything about right now are momentarily forgotten.

Writing this blog!

This whole exercise of writing my thoughts on a variety of subjects and getting super interesting comments in return has been excellent for me, and I hope you enjoy it too! Thanks for reading and for your input!

So those are just a few little things… maybe you have some more? Share away!

2 thoughts on “Little Things that Make a Difference to Introverts

Leave a Reply

